The benefits of drama and the power of imaginative play are becoming increasingly recognised, and as such, many nurseries, preschools, and schools place real value on these areas. The approach to drama in education varies in each country within the UK and although Drama is not a recognised core subject, many nurseries and schools work hard to provide their children with a positive experience of drama with many inviting Pyjama Drama teachers into their setting to provide sessions. 

Watch the video below to see the magic of Pyjama Drama in action, or scroll down to read and download further information about how our sessions support the current requirements of The National Curriculum (England), Curriculum for Wales, and Curriculum for Excellence (Scotland). 




The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
In England, The Foundation Stage for children up to the age of five stresses the importance of learning through play and summarises each child's learning into Areas of Learning and Development - three prime areas and four specific areas:

Prime areas (the knowledge and skills which are considered the foundation for children's school readiness):
    Communication and language
    Physical development
    Personal, social and emotional development

Specific areas (curriculum providers must also support children in four distinct areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied):
    Understanding the world
    Expressive arts and design

Pyjama Drama classes provide children with opportunities to work towards their early learning goals in all six areas, and participation in just one Pyjama Drama class provides opportunities for them to work towards 100% of their Early Learning Goals in Communication and language, and 89% of their Early Learning Goals in Personal, Social and Emotional development. Find out more by downloading 'Pyjama Drama and the EYFS' here. 


Key Stage 1 (5 - 7 years)
Drama is not a discrete curriculum area in England, although from Key Stage 1 through to Key Stage 4, drama is taught within the English curriculum as part of the Speaking and Listening element (en1). Pyjama Drama classes provide opportunities to target 100% of the statutory requirements for Spoken language. 
Download further information here. 




The four purposes of the Curriculum for Wales is the starting point and aspiration for every child and young person in Wales, supporting learners to become:

  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society

Drama is an inclusive and engaging tool with the potential to nurture all four of the above four purposes, providing children with the core life skills they need to lead happy, healthy, and successful lives.

In addition, Children in Wales learn across six Areas of Learning and Experience and our classes and techniques provide opportunities for children to develop knowledge, skills, and understanding across all areas (specifically Health and well-being and Languages, literacy and communication as well as Expressive arts):

1. Expressive arts
2. Humanities
3. Health and wellbeing
4. Science and technology
5. Mathematics and numeracy
6. Languages, literacy and communication

 Nurseries - download more information here | Schools - download more information here




At the centre of Curriculum for Excellence are four fundamental capacities. These capacities reflect and recognise the lifelong nature of education and learning. The four capacities are aimed at helping children and young people to become: 

Successful learners 
Confident individuals 
Responsible citizens 
Effective contributors 

At the centre of each Pyjama Drama class is the imagination, and our classes and techniques support children as they develop their skills within each of the four capacities.

In addition, children in Scotland learn across eight curriculum areas and our classes and techniques provide opportunities for children to develop the knowledge and understanding, skills, capabilities, and attributes in the specific areas of Expressive Arts, Health and well-being and Languages

1. Expressive arts
2. Health and wellbeing
3. Languages
4. Numeracy and mathematics
5. Religious and moral education
6. Sciences
7. Social studies
8. Technologies

Nurseries - download more information here | Schools - download more information here